Main Menu

PDGA Points System

PDGA Points are awarded to members based on how they finish in PDGA-sanctioned events. When a member completes a PDGA-sanctioned tournament or league they receive a point for each player within their division that they tie or beat (including themselves) multiplied by the points factor determined by the tier level of the event and the division competed in.  Tournaments are calculated on final standings, leagues are calculated for each week of the league and then combined (but have a smaller points factor than tournaments).  These point factors may be viewed in the PDGA Tour Player Divisions, Ratings, and Points Factors chart.

PDGA points are used at the end of the calendar year to determine two things:

End-of-Year PDGA Points Leader Awards

These awards are presented to the PDGA members who earned the most points competing within a division at PDGA-sanctioned events during the season. EOY awards are based on actual competition within a division during the course of the year, with the exception of Junior divisions. For example, if a 50-54 aged Pro class member earned more Pro points across all Pro divisions of play than any other 50-54 aged Pro class member, they would not necessarily win an award.  However, if they had more points earned while actually playing in the MP50 division than any other PDGA member, they would win the EOY award for the MP50 division.

Junior accolades will be awarded to the highest points earner within a division across all of the Junior Mixed divisions as well as the highest points earner within a division across all of the Junior Female divisions.

Award Criteria

  • To earn a PDGA Points Award for a season, a player must have been a current PDGA member during that season.
  • Points must be earned within a specific division, unless otherwise noted.
  • ALL Juniors earning points within a specific Junior division who were current PDGA members are to be considered for Junior Points Awards; the highest points earner within a specific Junior Mixed division across all Junior Mixed divisions, will be declared the Junior Mixed points leader, and the highest points earner within a specific Female Junior division across all Junior Female divisions will be declared the Junior Female points leader.
  • Tie Breaker: should more than one player finish the season with the same number of points earned, the number of events played in that division will serve as the tie breaker. The player who played in more events would be declared the winner. Should the tied players also have the same number of events played within that division, the tie will stand, and the players will be crowned co-points leaders. 

Obelisk Criteria

Obelisks will be produced and distributed to the winners of the following divisions, so long as they meet the obelisk criteria (below): MPO, MP40, MP50, MP55, MP60, MP65, MP70, MP75, MP80, FPO, FP40, FP50, FP55, FP60, FP65, FP70; MA1, MA40, MA50, MA55, MA60, MA65, MA70, FA1, FA40, FA50, FA55, FA60, FA65, FA70; Junior Mixed, Junior Girls.

  • Minimum number of players (both current & non-current) earning points in the Mixed division: 100
  • Minimum number of players earning points in the Female division: 50
  • Minimum number of events played in the specific division: 5 
  • Junior Mixed and Junior Girls points winners will receive an obelisk. 

Invitations to the PDGA World Championships the following year

Although PDGA Pro Worlds (FPO & MPO) invites are based on ratings, the invitations to the PDGA World Championships for Pro Masters, Amateurs, and Juniors are based on a current member meeting a published minimum number of points for their age-based division during the previous year’s PDGA Tour.  Unlike the End-of-Year awards, all points earned within any division matching the member’s class (Pro or Amateur) count towards a Worlds invitation for their Primary Worlds Division based on their class and age.  For example, if an Amateur class player aged 40-49 in the Worlds year, earned 250 points playing MA40, 200 points playing MA1, and 100 points playing in MP40 the previous year, they would receive 450 Amateur class points towards an Amateur Worlds Championship invite in the MA40 division.  (Only the Amateur MA40 points plus the Amateur MA1 points count, as the Pro points earned in MP40 don’t count since the member is Amateur class.)  Members may also earn a secondary invite for another division if they earn that division's points requirement while actually playing in that division.  For example, if an Amateur member aged 18 in the Worlds year earned a total of 200 amateur points (the MJ18 requirement) across all amateur divisions, they would earn an invite to MJ18 at Junior Worlds, but if they had also earned 1,500 points (the MA1 requirement) while actually playing in MA1, they would receive a secondary worlds invite for MA1 at Amateur Worlds. 

2019 EOY Points Winners

Name PDGANum Division Country
Kevin Jones 41760 MPO US
J Ray 47865 MP40 US
Jonathan Baldwin 18114 MP50 US
Eric Rainey 41947 MP55 US
Geoff Hungerford 688 MP60 US
Alan Beaver 1213 MP65 US
Dr. Rick Voakes 2632 MP70 US
Pete May 12700 MP75 US
Carlos Rigby 48542 MP80 US
Catrina Allen 44184 FPO US
Elaine King 3090 FP40 US
Kirsi Kaikkonen 91275 FP50 Finland
Pam Reineke 6439 FP55 US
Suzette Simons 11957 FP60 US
Deborah Parrish 64338 FP65 US
Sylvia Voakes 3360 FP70 US
Cody Parsons 59978 MA1 US
Richard Van Manen 20807 MA40 US
Ben Champion 17943 MA50 US
James Elkins 31524 MA55 US
Fred Needham 46326 MA60 US
Phillip Bryan 24375 MA65 US
Gary Johnson 31049 MA70 US
Alison Mabbutt 81569 FA1 US
Mila Puumala 70936 FA40 Finland
Noemi Bjerkaas 33839 FA50 US
Caryn Shearer 36022 FA55 US
Maureen Miller 24240 FA60 US
Denise Gentry 54867 FA65 US
Nancy Wright 59790 FA70 US
Elijah Bickel 94844 Junior Mixed US
Lucy Burks 70025 Junior Girls US